You Can't Have a Career From Home

Don't shoot the messenger.

It's me. Hi. I'm not the problem... it's not me.

At tea time, everybody agrees.

The problem is with THIS quote:

"You can do your job from home, but not your whole career."

WAIT, WHAT?

Yes, this was a quote I heard last week by a CPO of a Fortune 500 company.

I immediately wrote it down. I couldn't shake it off.

I was like, okay, maybe I need to rethink this… maybe they ARE right. Can you truly have a career from home?

I understand why companies want the return to the office scenario and yes, I do see the importance in several different positions. BUT me? Yeah, I will say I sometimes wobble back and forth on the whole WFH/RTO concept. I think it's just because not everyone is made to work from home and they want that constant interaction. If you do have the ability to WFH and can prove you can, I think this option will make you happiest. I do recommend finding a smaller company for better options.

Further to that comment about not doing your whole career from home was that you can have depth working from home, but not breadth.

So basically, this suggests that while working at home, you can focus on various tasks/projects and gain in-depth knowledge… and it also implies that if you work from home, you limit your exposure to other areas, ideas, and experiences. THAT last part, I do agree with. I see that for myself, and in many of my clients too. I talk to dozens of new people each week, but just attending the Transform conference this last week really exposed me to other ideas and experiences that happen within this career ecosystem that I never get to be a part of. It was fantastic.

So, back to this jarring assumption that you cannot do a career from home. I disagree for so many reasons. Namely, I have built my entire career from my home like many other consultants and advisors.

I worked from home before it was cool.

I’ve been doing this for 20 years.

I would say my career EFFIN ROCKS.

But, okay, let's look at what 'career' means to most - The actual definition of career is:

Thank you, Mr. Cambridge Dictionary.

Okay- so by definition… Yes, working a job is a career. Can you do a job at home? Yes, if the company allows it. So can you also do a career, by definition, at home? YES, absolutely.

Some issues we have with the definition of career are really just limits made by companies:

In the current topic of conversation, you can’t have a higher salary or be up for promotions as easily when you work from home, and it is better to RTO to uplevel? I have a lot of clients I have had to push into RTO or atleast hybrid roles recently to make sure they can attain their goals. I hate it, but, my job is to make sure they achieve what they want and find the best job for them now. Here's the thing ya'lI, I have to say… look at the definition of CAREER. It says we can get better jobs and more money! There is an upside to all of this...

At the Transform conference last week, I listened to so many panels of thought leaders, and those building the future of work. In fact, the future of work is already here. I took away a bunch of new ideas and thought positioning.

What came out very strongly is that the nature of employment WILL change. It is changing. What I loved was hearing how many companies, CPOs, and HR are pushing for hybrid or remote work for the future.

I truly think that WFH will become a MAJOR norm with these new ideas.

Will it be bumpy getting there? ABSOLUTELY. We are creating a very new way of life in the corporate world. So as an employee, be patient. It is coming. It was refreshing to hear how many HR leaders and company C-Suites are pushing for a work/life balance for all employees.

It is kind of ironic- when the pandemic happened, I remember talking to my clients still looking for a job, and saying how they couldn’t wait to get back to the office and how much their spouse annoyed them being at home all day every day.

But can we go back to that comment about being able to do a job from home, and not a career from home… You absolutely can build a thriving career right from your living room and here is why.

Technology today has made it possible to stay connected, collaborate, and manage projects globally. I guess we can say that Zoom will be in business forever at this point. We all still need to stay connected and be human together. Also, many companies are shifting towards valuing results over office attendance. Albeit I am not seeing this as a major push right now, but it is happening. This is why I said patience. This is baby steps. We all have to learn how to make this shift, and also make it possible corporate-wide- and for each of us individually. What we need to do as workers is make sure we know where we want to focus our career growth on, and the path it needs to take. What companies match these ideals? That is key.

The very idea that "you can do your job from home, but not your whole career" is an outdated notion that doesn't hold up in today's flexible working world.

I 100% stand with all the hybrid and WFH warriors out there—and hey, if you're someone who thrives in an office setting and wants to return to the office, then YES more power to you! I am excited to see companies change policies and push WFH more like companies like HungryRoot and Remote-First Hybrid work with Lattice.

Now is the time for companies to evaluate what they truly need and for employees to find where their work style fits best. This will create a happier, more productive work/life situation for everyone.

As we all strive for happiness and productivity, let's keep in mind that, as Taylor Swift says, "In a world full of the word yes, I'm here to scream no." It's a powerful reminder to stand firm in our beliefs and choices, especially when it comes to shaping our careers and lifestyles in a way that truly fits us and when the glittering boot fits... ROCK IT!

P.S. Hope my Swiftie daughter appreciates my references. :)

Amanda Goodall, The Job Chick

To connect and learn more about my professional services and personal adventures, or inquire about having me speak at your next event, reach out at [email protected]

Reply

or to participate.