The AI bubble has burst. Here's how we know.

I’ve been closely observing the job market trends, especially in AI and tech roles. Since the beginning of June, there’s been a sharp and steep decline in demand for these positions.

Just a few months ago, AI roles dominated my resume writing, but now, interest has waned significantly. It’s an unexpected shift, given the previous hype. With my extensive experience in this space, I feel confident that I could interview for any tech role out there right now. 😂 I’ve been calling it since my newsletter in March 2024: the tech market is in a bubble, much like the dot-com era. https://lnkd.in/gJw7Trxs My prediction from that newsletter was: The recent sharp decline in AI and tech roles echoes the early 2000s, where a dramatic rise was followed by a steep fall. Back then, unemployment jumped from 3.9% to 6%. Today, with AI giants like NVIDIA and Amazon still hiring heavily, the bubble hasn’t burst yet, but I predict a significant impact in the next 6-12 months. The job market’s current sluggishness, especially in tech and fintech, is a clear sign of cautious hiring amid fears of a repeat crash.I'm not saying I'm an oracle.. but here we are... 😉

Between the jobs reports, unemployment increasing and stocks dropping... yeah, we are in a bubble that is bursting.

Let’s decode this for the JOB MARKET.

What goes up must come down, and the impact on the job market could be profound.

Now, let’s talk about AI. It’s everywhere, shaking up the job market. Recruiters are relying on AI to sift through resumes, but here’s the catch – it might be introducing serious bias into the hiring process.

As one attorney pointed out, “Every company says the final decision is in the hands of a human recruiter, even if in reality, they do have the AI sort through 500 resumes, and then only look through the top resumes that the AI sends to them.” Resumes are getting filtered out based on everything from hobbies to names. If that doesn’t make you raise an eyebrow, I don’t know what will.

But AI isn’t the only challenge. Layoffs are hitting industries left and right, from tech to finance to media.

I wonder with the bubble burst- will this change the job market? Will it become less AI focused? Or more hyper focused on AI?

I’m not quite sure yet. I lean towards the latter…

My thoughts on the AI/tech bubble burst is that the job market will get tighter over the next 4-6 months before anything might happen.

Oh and don’t miss my latest video.

Reply

or to participate.